First P-Day

Today’s my first P-Day (preparation day) and we’re only supposed to email once a week so I’ll just quickly summarize my first couple days in the MTC.

The first day was really fast-paced having to get a bunch of books and going to a lot of meetings but I’m pretty well adjusted to the schedule now. The days feel long but I feel like I’ve progressed a lot in the language already and the pace at which I learn should only quicken. I’m in a room with four other elders, all serving in Tonga. My district includes that group plus two sisters. There’s another Tongan district of about the same size, and then we’re all in a zone that includes Tonga, Samoa, Fiji, some other Polynesian islands and ASL. Some of the elders and sisters are actually from Polynesia or Australia, and about half are of Polynesian descent. My companion Elder Mahe is from Utah but his parents moved from Tonga. He can understand the language fairly well but has trouble speaking it himself, which seems to be common among the Polynesian elders. We had a zone meeting last night just to introduce ourselves to everyone and interview with the branch president. He was surprised when I said I had no previous connection to Tonga. Not sure if that’s good or bad.

There’s a lot of work to do but other than learning the language it seems pretty easy. The hardest thing will probably be focusing in class after dinner. There isn’t much free time so by the end of the day we’re mentally exhausted. It’s been a while since I’ve learned a language and never for 9+ hours a day so it feels like I have to rewire my brain to something completely different from what I’m used to. Hopefully I don’t have the opposite challenge coming back.

My roommates and I took a picture last night, which I’ll try posting to the blog when I get a chance.
Author: Elder Patrick Watts

I am serving a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Tonga Nuku'alofa Mission.

Leave a Reply

