Week 16 – Talihau/’Utungake

I had a lot of cool experiences this week. First was Tavina’s baptism on Tuesday. In the moment it felt like a disaster though. First I slipped getting into the font, then she didn’t know where to grab my arm so a member of the bishopric had to help us get our hands positioned. Also the water level was so low I almost had to lay her down in the water. It was definitely embarrassing in the moment but I got over it pretty quick. Even if it wasn’t perfect, the ordinance was performed and that was all that mattered to me.

Before we left our MQ for the baptism I said a quick prayer thanking Heavenly Father for all the opportunities I’ve had to teach and share the gospel and now to perform the ordinance of baptism, and asked that I’d receive a witness of the truth of it. On the bus ride to the chapel I definitely felt that confirmation through the Holy Ghost. It’s funny, I think Heavenly Father knew I’d mess up and just feel embarrassed during the actual baptism so He gave me that witness beforehand instead.

Another cool experience was witnessing at the Toula sisters’ baptism. I got called up suddenly and didn’t know why, but then I realized they wanted me to help witness. After the baptism one of the sisters told me “You are a representative of Jesus Christ”. From that I gained a better understanding of the significance of my calling and the importance of staying worthy to the title of ‘Elder’.

Last thing, I had my first companion exchange on Thursday/Friday. The rule here is senior comps go together and junior comps go together, so I got paired with an elder only a transfer behind me, meaning he just arrived from the MTC five weeks ago. We taught two successful lessons together in his area, and I led both of them. It was evidence to me of how much I’ve grown and improved in my first twelve weeks, even though it might not seem like it day-to-day. Thanks to my trainer Elder Hopoate for doing such a good job.

We haven’t taken pictures in forever but I finally posted some. Tau toki sio uike ka ha’u.

 

Author: Elder Patrick Watts

I am serving a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Tonga Nuku'alofa Mission.

Leave a Reply

