Week 38/39 – Lapaha

General conference is over! My brain was pooped after listening to all sessions in Tongan but I still learned a lot. Elder Joaquin Costa’s talk was awesome for investigators and recent converts. Elder Oaks’ talk was helpful for knowing how we should teach the Godhead. There were a lot of talks that applied greatly to missionaries, especially Elder Palmer’s, about helping a disobedient missionary feel God’s love for him.

We talked to a less-active member a few days ago that got me thinking about humility. What can I do to be more humble? I couldn’t think of anything that wouldn’t seem forced. Of all Christlike attributes humility is probably the least likely to develop just from “fake it until you make it”. While I was listening to conference the answer came to me: work. The work is what pushes you to your limit and forces you to recognize your weakness and reach out for strength. Prayer is the way we show childlike submission to Heavenly Father and admit that we need His help in order to accomplish the work. I still struggle to find the desire to pray sometimes. But as I think of the vision God has for me as a missionary, I feel a stronger need to ask for strength and counsel. For a long time I saw prayer as a duty but it is really a gift. Matthew 7:7 –

Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.

The Lord promises us that any righteous desire of ours will be given, if we just pray and ask for it. I believe that is how we can become more humble, by first recognizing that we can never live up to God’s vision for us without Him, then simply asking for His help.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to preach the gospel. Christ’s teaching is true: when you lose your life in the service of others, that is when you will find it. I am without a doubt the happiest now than I ever was before the mission. It is scary to think that someday the badge will come off, but thankfully God always calls us to some other work. Tau toki sio, eh!

Author: Elder Patrick Watts

I am serving a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Tonga Nuku'alofa Mission.

Leave a Reply

