Week 48 – Hoi

Another week, another P-day. Also another transfer but I’m still not sure what’s going on because I haven’t been told who my new companion is, which probably means I’ll be training someone. Elder Nuki left on Thursday right after Mele’s baptism to replace another Elder who just finished. We didn’t know until that day he would be leaving but I guess we were inspired when we set Mele’s baptismal date, haha. He’s going to go be a zone leader somewhere else so I guess that means I’m district leader since the other Elders in the district are fairly new.

This week I was thinking about the influence that we have on other people, even if we don’t realize it. I feel like a lot of times as missionaries we look at the big list of things we need to do, tackle them one at a time as best we can, then move on to the next thing. At the end of the day you look back at what you did and mostly it’s an analysis of your own performance, how your teaching was or what you could have done better. I think what triggered me thinking about all this is our recent convert Mele. Every time she sees us she gets super happy and asks if we’ll come over tomorrow. To me it feels like all we did was teach a few lessons but for Mele it means so much more. As missionaries we have the opportunity to help change people’s lives for good. Off the mission it would be pretty amazing helping just one person convert. On the mission we do it all the time without even realizing and I want to be better at recognizing those moments, otherwise they might go unnoticed and unappreciated except by the person being converted.

That’s all for this week. Ofa atu.

 

Author: Elder Patrick Watts

I am serving a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Tonga Nuku'alofa Mission.

Leave a Reply

