Week 55 – Tokomololo

You might be surprised reading the title because last week I said I was moving to Nualei. Last Monday the AP’s took me and Elder Hirinuki to the Tongan equivalent of the DMV so we could get our drivers licences. For me it was super easy, they checked my American license, took a picture and printed out the new license right there. Elder Nuki didn’t have a full license though so he’ll have to take an actual driving test. Beyond having a license you also have to get certified by the mission, so as a result President decided to send an already certified driver to take my place in Nualei and I moved to Tokomololo instead.

That same day I watched a bunch of driving safety videos at the office and drove to town once with one of the couple missionaries. I guess that was enough for them to trust me, though I was pretty nervous driving on the left side for the first time. Also having to take into account people and animals on the road was new for me. It’s been fairly quick getting used to driving though.

My new companion is Elder Vakautakakala from Auckland, New Zealand. He’s about nine months in his mission and a transfer into this area. The first week here has already been really fun. The wards are strong, especially the young men and those preparing to serve a mission, which is a new experience for me. There’s a lot of people here eager to help us in the work. On Sunday we had four new investigators just from members inviting them to church, and we taught them after sacrament meeting.

I’m excited for this week of work and MLC leadership training! I couldn’t be happier with this area and my new companion. Ofa atu!

Author: Elder Patrick Watts

I am serving a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Tonga Nuku'alofa Mission.

Leave a Reply

